Here we goooo!

My hometown could without a doubt fit into a skyscraper in downtown Columbus. Every resident, cow, amish buggy, cornfield and house. Boom; all crammed into one ridiculously tall building. And sadly, there would probably be room left over.

BUT, we do have our own wikipage, which makes us important in the grand scheme of things, I guess. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homerville,_Ohio

Anyways… you can imagine the culture shock I went through when I moved my entire life here last month. And I’m sure you can still imagine the sheer insanity I go through just to make it down here on my own. So, why not blog about it right?

I’ve always been a blogger. Just not a public blogger. More specifically, not a confident blogger. And I think part of that has to do with the fact that sometimes bloggers get the wrong reputation. We’re not all wastes of life (although some probably are) – sitting in a pitch dark basement, elbow deep in a bag of potato chips, staring at the TV in yesterday’s clothes. Some of us just need to appeal to our inner writer dying to get out.

So. I’m out on my own for the first time and don’t have a clue about how most things work in the world. Seriously, it’s embarrassing sometimes. So needless to say, my life is anything but dull.

My back story goes a little something like this.

I graduated from Mount Union College in May, a small college in northeast Ohio, with a degree in media studies. And if you’re reading this, you probably already know that much; good. What you probably don’t know is the whirlwind that my life has taken the month between graduation day and now.

I entered the real world. Yes. That brutal, in your face, not-in-college anymore, real world that no one is ever really prepared for. People who say they were ready for this blow directly to the face are liars.

However, I was fortunate enough to find a job as an Assistant Director of Marketing at a great construction company in Columbus, Ohio. I applied for the position a week before graduation, officially took the position two days after graduation, started three days after that, and moved to Columbus a week later.

And I cried the entire time.

BUT… after the shock of my life wore off, I finally realized that I’m actually at the perfect place in life right now. I have just enough responsibilities to get up in the morning for, but just enough to not have to care a whole lot. So I stopped crying. Finally.

And now, I’m working and living in Columbus and doing the best I can to make it on my own. Mix this new independence with my personality, and you’ve got a couple things worth blogging about…

So bookmark this page, save it as a Facebook link, tweet about it…WHATEVER!! This is my new undertaking. I’m getting tired of talking to myself, it was only a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

