“Pursuit of Happyness” Moment

I had my first “Pursuit of Happyness” moment.

That moment when you realize everything you’ve worked for, all the struggles you’ve had to push through, all the late nights of hard work, all the times that you were doubted, all the hard times…it was all worth it. Because look at you now.

Sitting on my couch, in the MY OWN apartment, reading my Bible, I had my moment. The moment when I realized I was truly, and completely happy. For the first time in a long time.

Happy for my job. Happy for my life. Happy for the people in it. And happy to be so incredibly blessed by GOD.

For those of you who haven’t seen my all time FAVORITE movie Pursuit of Happyness, you need to. Its a good true life account about going after your dreams.

The back story is that Will Smith’s character Chris Gardner goes from being a homeless guy barely getting by, to the CEO of Dean Whitter, a stock market company. And he struggles through it all, but never gives up.

And if you’re a reader, the book is even better & more inspiring.

Obviously, my life story is nowhere near his. But we can definitely relate.

Here is the last scene of the movie, when he finally gets what he’s worked for his entire life. This is his “Pursuit of Happyness” moment.

I should have ran out into the streets of my apartment complex and clapped and cheered to make it a little more authentic like this. But I didn’t. Mine was more of an AH HA! moment on the couch.

What an incredible GOD. I could have never imagined my life to be like this 7 weeks outside of graduating college. Truly happy. And truly blessed.

All I’ve got to say is this. If you haven’t had your first “pursuit of happyness” moment yet…its okay. Really. In order to truly appreciate it, you’ve got to have some low points. Believe me. That word pursuit, its in there for a reason. But its there for everyone…and you’ll just know when you’ve hit it. ūüôā

And hopefully, you’ll have a life full of “happyness” moments. ¬†There are so many things I want to do with my life, and this is just the¬†beginning. The first milestone of many.

In the meantime, put your trust in GOD who is always watching out for you. And when I say always, I mean it. Check out this little morning wisdom from above that hit me on my 5:30 a.m. run…

My favorite Bible verse. Philippians 4:13. Cheering me on. On a licence plate. How awesome?

2 thoughts on ““Pursuit of Happyness” Moment

  1. Dear Kristin,
    Just wanted to say, I absolutely LOVE your blog. It always makes me smile and I love how you shine with your heart for God and always share verses….so encouraging and inspiring. So happy you’re loving life in C-bus! Love you ‚̧ Linds

  2. Linds!

    You are so sweet. This comment made my day. Great to know people actually want to read what I write!! ūüôā You should know I’m a pretty regular follower of your blog as well!! Love to see the way that God is working in each of our lives!!

    Take care pretty girl!! If you’re ever in Columbus look me up!!

Leave a Reply

