God Bless the U.S.A.!!

I live for Sundays for two reasons.

#1- The Columbus Dispatch Sunday Paper. I get the biggest satisfaction out of cutting coupons in the paper & saving 25 cents on my wheaties each week. And I get the same in your face satisfaction when I use them at the grocery store. Because when everyone else is paying full price, I’m saving.  It’s a double win.

And, I cut the sudoku puzzle each week too, which racks my brain all week & keeps me on my feet. I literally eat away at that puzzle every night before bed. I’ve heard it keeps you from getting Alzheimer’s Disease too. Another win.

#2- The Columbus Church Tour. Since I’ve been in Columbus of course I’ve been looking for a church to call home, which I’ve started to call the Columbus church tour. And I’ve actually come across some pretty incredible churches. Today I went back to my old roots and spent the morning at the Lewis Center Methodist Church.

And just when I needed a message to be awesome, it was. And of course I want to share it with you. The title of the series at this church was the spiritual principle for healthy living. The past 5 weeks, there has been a new principle every week.

So, the next 5 blog posts, I’ll share a new principle with you. Reading these principles and hearing the message this morning was kinda one of those slap in the face moments for me. And I realized that I can’t control what happens in my life, and I don’t need to control what happens in my life. Because God is in control.

So, take these principles for what they are, and take some time to think about them. The messages behind them are pretty incredible. And then, get ready for your slap in the face. I wasn’t.

Principle #1- I realize that I am not God; I admit that I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing; and therefore, at times my life is unmanageable. When I am spiritually poor, I can stop my denial and embrace God’s power offered to me. “Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor.” – Matthew 5:3

Each principle builds off the other. So I’ll be studying these this week, take some time to do so too.

Alright. INDEPENDENCE DAY. I make this plea every year, but here it is again. Don’t forget the reason we celebrate today. Most importantly, don’t forget the brave men & women who are away from home still fighting for our independence.

And of course, celebrate accordingly.

So here is my list of patriotic acts today. And of course, they were approved by my favorite 2nd lieutenant in the U.S. Army. So they’re American & authentic.

-Eat an all-American hot dog

-Watch the movie Independence Day

-Ohh & Ahh over fireworks (three times…triple score)

-Watch an inning of an MLB baseball game

-Play the soundtrack to Forrest Gump

-Call my grandpa, who served in WW2

-Paint my nails red

There ya go America. I got your back. Ha. But most importantly, relax & be happy to be free & American. Which I’ll be doing a lot of.

Today starts my mom’s week vacation in Columbus. So it should be a fun week.

So, I’ll leave you with this on the fourth of July…God Bless the U.S.A.!!

Columbus’ Red, White, & Boom Celebration Friday Night.

**This message is proudly brought to you by my neighbor’s internet. Thank you Belkin c78, whoever you are.

Leave a Reply

