Housewife. (68 years early)

You want a really good workout? Superclean your apartment.

Whew. Counting that as my cross training workout for marathon training this week. My apartment is finally back to my OCD one-of-a-kind neat freak style. Al-le-lou-ia.

Trying to refresh my marathon training, because to be honest I’m getting bored running every day. Its not that I can’t do it, it’s that running 45 minutes a day gets boring. boring. boring.

So I call this part of my training, the creative phase.

Here is a really good article about some creative workouts: http://exercise.about.com/od/fittinginexercise/a/trainertricks_2.htm

I’m trying new things like using soup cans as weights in my living room, doing wall sits in my hallway, doing RAIDER jacks (which I’m sure my neighbors appreciate), and doing pushups out by my lake.

I also took a yoga class this weekend, which was super relaxing. Exactly what I needed. And yes, I had the crazy yoga teacher who focused way too much on breathing and talked about moon and wave energies. But, I think she was actually to something. I left feeling good and ready to take on the world.

And…my next purchase: a jumprope. Taking this workout back to third grade ya’ll.

Mentally and physically, I think I’m ready for the ½ marathon. Just need to build up that endurance. And do it creatively.

I went to the Worthington Farmer’s Market this past weekend and fell in love. The square of this little town is lined with farmers selling everything from peppers to corn to sunflowers. It was my little piece of Homerville. So of course, I had to get these:

And I live alone. So these make me happy to come home to everyday. What an exciting life I lead.

Started cooking again. Mix it with the cleaning today, and I was a certified housewife. I look at it as prepping myself for life in about 68 years….right.

I found a really good pasta recipe in my fitness magazine. All my favorite things rolled into one: shrimp, tomatoes, and spinach. If you love natural flavors, try it out:

SAVORY SEAFOOD PENNE

Ingredients:

2 oz multigrain penne

12-14 medium precooked peeled shrimp

2 Tbsp crumbled gorgonzola (Find this with the cheeses…took me 3 stores and a lot of wandering to figure that one out.)

3 c chopped baby spinach

1 tomato, chopped

2 Tbsp chopped walnuts

3 Tbsp ready-made pesto

To make:

Cook pasta according to package directions; drain and transfer to a large bowl. Add shrimp, cheese, spinach, tomato, waluts, and pesto, stirring well to help wilt the spinach and distribute the pesto.

Makes 2 servings. Per serving: 360 cal., 19g fat, 26g carbs, 390mg sodium, 5g fiber, 22g protein.

And here’s the end result. Delicious.

Really getting into Eckhart Tolle & A New Earth. And took a couple good quotes from his book. He’s got a way of saying things that make you think…which is good for everyone.

“If no action is possible, you rest in the peace and inner stillness that come with surrender. You rest in God.”

“Rather than being your thoughts and emotions, be the awareness behind them. Awareness is the greatest agent for change.”

Peace & Love. (such a hippie ending to this…but whatever.)

Leave a Reply

