You’re Welcome, Thriving Columbus.

Just a friendly Columbus warning: there are traffic cameras in this city. And they most certainly will not hesitate to ticket you for running a red light.

Son. Of. A. Gun.

Yep. Got my mug shot in the mail for running a red light.

Actually worse than that. My parents got my mug shot in the mail at their house for me running the red light. Awesome.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m not the most observant driver. Never been in an accident (knock on wood), but I sure do rack up some pretty ridiculous tickets. So I guess it was only a matter of time, still doesn’t make me happy about it though.

And the worst part about it? I didn’t have anyone to yell about it with. So I stomped around my apartment, screamed a little, went for a run, and still wasn’t over it. Definitely forever bitter to the Columbus traffic center. There should be a moving grace period. Or no cameras at all. Whichever works.

Give me some time and I’ll probably laugh about this one. In fact, I’m sure I’ll have that stupid photo in a frame and have added it to my ultimate mess up list. But before we joke, let my $95 check clear first. Goossshhhh.

Between this fine and the library, I’m keeping Columbus thriving. So you’re welcome Columbusians. Much love from the bitter marketing assistant.

Elizabeth Gilbert pandemonium has started. She’s the author of Eat Pray Love, and I’m arguably her biggest fan. I’ve been waiting forever for her movie to come out… which comes out tomorrow. Anyway, to celebrate, I started a new book by her that I’ve fallen in love with. It’s called “The Last American Man” and it’s the true life story of Eustace Conway, the ultimate rugged-nature American.

He lives off the land and is a self proclaimed “man of destiny.” And…he’s determined to show Americans that the way of life that society has made for them is corruptive. I think all of us could learn a little from Mr. Conway. I’m only about 50 pages in, but I think this guy might be on to something. Not to mention, Elizabeth Gilbert is a great story teller.

So…being my own “man of destiny” if you will.

Tonight is without a doubt my favorite night of the summer. It’s my stardate- meteor shower time!! And I know it’s completely dorky, but it’s completely awesome. Awesomely dorky. There is something about watching the meteors fly across the sky that is just plain cool.

Read about it: http://stardate.org/nightsky/meteors/

The show starts at 11 ya’ll. Find your favorite patch of grass & meet me under the stars. First time trying to see the stars in the city, so we’ll see how this goes…

Completely excited either way.

Meant to live by Switchfoot came up on my ipod shuffle during my run yesterday. And their chorus, really got me thinking. I’ve sang the song a million times, but I’ve never thought about it before.

“We were meant to live for so much more. Have we lost ourselves? Somewhere we live inside.”

Makes you think. Right?

Leave a Reply

