#10- Run a marathon.

OR a 1/2 marathon. Thats in the fine print of my bucket list.

I’m so proud to say I DID IT.

And. What an awesome feeling it is to say that.

To be surrounded by 1500 other runners all working towards that same goal was just such a great experience. I don’t know if I’ve ever been more motivated in my life.I actually really surprised myself on Sunday.

And part of it was the sheer adrenaline I had pumping through my veins. (Ran my first 3 miles in under 8 minute splits. ooops.) But the other part was my determination to finish. I finished the 13.1 mile course in a little over 2 hours, 2:07. I even met all the goals I set.

And I have a million little stories about the different characters I saw running with me. Including one about the 68 year old man who finished at the same time I did, and completely stole my glory. But I guess he kinda deserved it.

So I’m on top of the world, and I’m pretty sure I haven’t stopped smiling since. There is a quote on a tshirt that I’ve seen before that says, “change your life, run a marathon,” which I always thought was completely crazy. BUT, I’m a serious believer. That feeling of accomplishment is just awesome. Its hard to explain. Looks like you’ll just have to run one to find out what I mean!!

But I do have to say, I know I wouldn’t have done near as well without the awesome support team I had cheering me on the sidelines. Hanging out at mile 7, SCREAMING out the car windows driving past, at the finish line to give me a giant hug. Seriously, I don’t know what I did to be so lucky.

Sarah, Zac, Katie, & sweaty me.

My Momma.

And my surprise sign with my all time favorite bible verse at mile 7. What awesome friends. 🙂

So everyone is asking if I’d ever run again. Once a runner, always a runner my friends. Of course I’d do it again. If I did do it again I would 1) want to do it for a really awesome cause to have a real reason to run, 2) do it with a friend running for the first time, or 3) travel to another country to run an awesome course.  Not just something I’m going to do on a whim. So we’ll see. Happy to have finished the first one though.

Oh my gosh am I sore though. I literally feel like I got hit by a semi truck & then it backed up and ran me over a few times. Whew. At work today I got compared to the tin man who needed to be oiled and Pinocchio because of the way I was walking.  Ha. But standing strong that it was worth it.

“I run to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” -Philippians 3:14 (Thanks Nadine. 🙂 )

3 thoughts on “#10- Run a marathon.

Leave a Reply

