September: Hunger Action Awareness Month

Now that the marathon training and I have gotten a divorce, I have more time to do all the things I’ve wanted to do.

I’ve been looking for volunteer opportunities ever since I moved down to Columbus. Volunteering has always been a big part of my life. And I really have grown to enjoy the feeling you get when you help those in need. If you’ve never given some time at a food bank, at a soup kitchen, or at a charity event you probably don’t understand the appreciation you get when you give back.

But if you ever really want to see how truly blessed you are, give back.

And now is the perfect time to get involved because September is Hunger Action Awareness month. And I also found that central ohio has a pretty big foodbank that you can volunteer at any day of the week.

Now that I have my big girl taste of bills, I know I can’t give donations to causes I’m passionate about but I can give my time. So I registered myself on this website: http://www.midohiofoodbank.org/ham and hope to get down to the foodbank sometime next week to start sorting food and giving it out.

I know doing this little thing will not only help others, but it’s going to give me just the boost I need to appreciate what I have a little more.

I’m making it a point to take some time this fall to really give back, now that I have extra time.  And I challenge anyone else to do the same. You can volunteer anywhere.

So tomorrow is Friday, THANK GOD. And I’ve got high expectations for the weekend because I’m going to the women of faith conference in Cleveland.

http://www.womenoffaith.com/cleveland/

I’ve never been to the conference, so I really don’t know what to expect. But I’m looking for a weekend full of strong Christian women looking to grow in faith together. And going out with Sarah and Katie afterwards… 🙂

I think Saturday right around noon I’ll be going through withdraws though because I have to ruin my perfect attendance at Ohio State Buckeyes games for this season. I’m 2/2 and I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself this week! Hopefully, they survive without me…I’ve been a pretty big part of their wins so far. Just sayin.

Go Bucks! All the way from Cleveland.

Leave a Reply

