“You need to learn to be comfortable when you’re uncomfortable.”

New life milestone- Grown up dating.

I’ve been on 2 dates since I’ve lived in Columbus. And I hate doing the mini bio thing, I hate asking 100 “get to know you” questions, I hate trying to really figure out a guy over dinner and a couple drinks. Because it’s impossible.

Get me back to college, where everyone knows everyone. And if you don’t know someone, you know someone who does. So we can skip the bio, skip the questions, and get into the dating part.

And college dating was just so much easier. Because we considered a movie night on the futon and take out Chinese just as good of a date as any. Which…I would kill for right now. (New China in Alliance, Ohio…phenomenal)

But now, it’s a whole ordeal. With dinner, drinks, and if you’re lucky…a movie? Who created this?

Although, I do like the grown up free wine part. The one good thing about dating new guys, is that “hey I need to impress this girl” phase. Which means, free bottles of wine. True way to a girl’s heart.

So holding strong with the grown up dating thing. Learning to like it. And if for nothing else, the wine collection.

So I started reading Drew Brees’ memoir, “Coming Back Stronger” and I’m really getting into it. For those of you who don’t know, Brees was the New Orleans Saints quarterback that led them to the Superbowl win last year. And if that wasn’t awesome enough, he’s got a pretty cool backstory behind it all.

He had to overcome a lot to get where he is now, and what I didn’t know until I started reading is that he relied on God to get through it all. Very cool story of facing adversity and making it through. His theme of the book is, “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” Appropriate.

Heres a little preview:

“At the begining of the season, when so many people were doubting me, I made a choice: instead of being sputted on by those who doubted me, I’d be motivated by those who had faith in me. These were the people who mentored me, supported me, and believed in me. To this day, when I walk from the locker room to our tunnel on Sundays, I‘m overcome with emotion thinking of all the people in my life who have had a positive impact on me. Whatever success I achieve is directly related to those who have stood behind me. I get emotional thinking, this is for them.”

And the knock out quote of the book so far: “You need to learn to be comfortable when you are uncomfortable.”

So he’s kicking the stereotype I kinda have about football players and their intelligence. Pretty awesome dude. Might be a new Saints fan? Right after the Browns who are doing stellar this year…

Okay, so the slower than molasses week is finally picking up. (I think it had a little something to do with that awesome Glee premiere…right?)

Wednesday tomorrow, happy hump day.

Leave a Reply

