Beer Intolerant?

Life crisis: I think I’m allergic to beer.

This is going to be a huge, life-altering problem if it’s true.

I went to two very awesome breweries this weekend, which every Columbusian needs to experience:

1) The Columbus Brewing Company (http://www.columbusbrewingco.com/)

The "Summer Teeth" beer that I got on Friday night at the Columbus Brewing Company
The "Summer Teeth" brewskie that I got on Friday night at the Columbus Brewing Company

2) BJ’s Brew House – Polaris (http://www.bjsbrewhouse.com/) – Has excellent seasonal “pumpkin beer”, well worth the wait

Great little Columbus brewhouses, horrible after effects for this girl.

I was sick a couple hours after leaving each of the brewhouses. And, turns out, my symptoms match being “beer intolerant.” Yes, this is real: http://www.beermasters.com/content/beer-and-food/beer-allergy-symptoms.aspx

This “beer intolerance” basically means your body has trouble breaking down the ingredients found in beer. It is also called “Asian Flushing Syndrome” because it is primarily found in Asians. This little Asian factoid is really the only thing that counts me out. Unless I have some serious Asian decent that I keep well hidden?

So these symptoms last for a couple hours, until your body flushes out the beer & you’re back to normal again. But its a pretty miserable couple of hours.

I’m not totally convinced I’m allergic just yet. It could be the fact that my body isn’t used to real, authentic beer. (Bud light lime was my college drink of choice, every. single. time.)  Maybe there is just a breaking in point?

I am also by no means a crazy beer drinker, but I love to try new ones almost every place I go! One of my bucket listers is to try 100 different types of beer. So I’m not ready to give up on it just yet.

And…I’m not allergic to a single other food / drink in this world, so I’m having a hard time convincing myself that of all things I’d be allergic / intolerant to beer. But…as my life goes, this would be the one thing that I would be allergic to.

The one good thing (if there is one) about this mess, is that this intolerance is a defense mechanism that the body sets up to defer you from becoming dependent on it (alcoholic, if you will). So, at least I’ve got that going for me.  Not that it was going to be a problem anyway…beer has way too many calories.

I’m going to test this little problem a couple more times before I really honker down on giving it up.

Aside from this little dilemma, God has been reminding me a little too much lately how short life is. WHICH… makes me realize how I need to appreciate life & the amazing people I have been blessed to have in it. One of those wake up calls that we all need once in awhile. Word of the week: appreciate ( & show it).

Leave a Reply

