Time to help myself, help myself.

In the past week, I’ve come to this huge, earth shattering epiphany in my life, and its only take me 22 years to get here.

You are your own biggest enabler.

Enabler:

  1. One who helps something to happen.
  2. One who encourages a bad habit in another by his or her behavior
  3. One who gives someone else the power to behave in a certain way.

Right? Think about it. You are only as unhappy as you let yourself be.  You have the biggest impact on the decisions that you make and they way you behave, because YOU are the one with the final say. HELLO!!!

If someone is destructive to your life, cut them out of it. If you’re doing something that you know is wrong but you keep doing it anyway, stop. If you have some bad habits, quit. You are the only one holding yourself back from the happiness you deserve (And yes, its out there). There comes a point where you need to start thinking about you, your happiness, and what you can do about it.

What a freaking realization. Its so simple, but it took me so long to figure that out. Life doesn’t have to be hard if you make the right decisions.

And yes, its all going to work out. This line might just be here so that I can really just convince myself of it, but none-the-less, true.

A couple words of wisdom from Meredeth Grey on Grey’s Anatomy:

Maybe we like the pain. Maybe we’re wired that way. Because without it, I don’t know; maybe we just wouldn’t feel real. What’s that saying? Why do I keep hitting myself with a hammer? Because it feels so good when I stop.

Duh, Kristin!

And oh does it feel good. I think this is all a part of that “growing up and figuring it out yourself” bit that I’ve heard so much about. The point is this: God’s got me. And my life story is already written, so why not make the ride a little smoother where I can? God is constant, and never lets down.

Being proactive from here until eternity. Time to help myself, help myself.

Whewww.

PS- On a very different note, special thank you for all the texts, calls, Facebook messages, etc. that I have gotten today about Mo Williams sad trade to LA .Yes, I am still alive. Depressed, but alive. Cavaliers just keep giving me reasons to hate on them!  But always a fan, just an upset fan at the moment.

Leave a Reply

