Stop Existing, Start Living.

‎”It is true that God may have called you to be exactly where you are.  But it’s absolutely vital to grasp that He didn’t call you there so you could settle in and live out your life in comfort and superficial peace.  His purposes are not random or arbitrary.  If you are still alive on this planet, it’s because He has something for you to do.  He placed us on this earth for purposes that He orchestrated long before we were born.  Do you believe you exist not for your own pleasure but to help people know the love of Jesus and to come fully alive in Him? If so, then that will shape how you live your life in the place where you are.” ♥ Francis Chan

Time for my little crisis that appears back in my life about every 3 months. Its that little voice that says, “hey Kristin, what are you really living for?”

I’ve been in Columbus for nearly a year now (I know, crazy right?) , and I’ve gotten into this routine. The “grown up” routine of life, if you will. At first everything was new and exciting but now its a mundane, life, routine.  I wake up every morning at 6 am, I get ready & go to work from 9-5. I usually head to the gym or the park after work to get a workout in. Then, I come home, cook dinner and relax with Sarah. Sometimes I’ll get real crazy and read a book or watch a movie or something. And then its off to bed… to wake up and repeat.

Over and over and over. And I’m waking up to a year of my life gone.

And I’ve done so much over the past year. And don’t get me wrong, I’m so grateful for all the opportunities that I’ve had –  I ran a 1/2 marathon, I went to Washington, DC, I went on a roadtrip to Chicago, I started blogging…. But its gone, just like that. And what do I have to show for it? I lived for myself, which was great, but now its time to start living for others too. The way it was intended to be.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about purpose, and more specifically finding mine. And I think there is a larger place for me in Columbus, and I think I’m close to uncovering just what that is. Every major life decision that I’ve made in my life has always had this secret, hidden meaning behind it…

Just like the quote above from Francis Chan – God has placed me in Columbus for a reason, and instead of falling into this mundane everyday plan, its time to make a difference down here! We are called to make a difference in people’s lives and help people to “know the love of Jesus.”

And thats what I want to do.

It’s time to get my life organized – plan, plan, plan – and plan with God in mind. So I’m drafting my 5 year plan (thanks BB), and maybe even the 10 year plan. And kicking into my inner OCD organization to figure out my life, before 5 years go by without me knowing.

Time to quit just existing, and start living. Exciting stuff! And because nothing in life  is ever worthwhile without some music to motivate….

 

Eph. 2:8-10

ALSO, totally off topic — but for all the bike haters out there, I will be saving a whopping $120 in gas a month when I ride it to work in the summer!! So take a bite of that! haha. Just a little math project I did today. On a roll (literally)… more money saving tips to come.

Nerd comments welcome & appreciated.

Leave a Reply

