30. Forget my fears, and donate blood

And I didn’t hyperventilate, I didn’t pass out, and I didn’t have a full on panic attack. 

I was waiting for it. I was waiting for myself to start going into shock. You know, crying, throwing up, the whole deal -which is usually my style for most stressful things in life.

But I didn’t.

I saved three lives and it didn’t alter my life at all.

This has been something on my bucket list FOREVER. I’ve always wanted to give blood. For the longest time, I didn’t weigh enough, which is just plain sick. (thank you protein shakes!!) And after I weighed over the 110 weight limit my fears kicked in. Which I’m embarrassed at now. That tiny little needle has nothing on me.

I was a champ. 6:20, record of the day. And I got a cool little donor card.

And if that doesn’t convince you to shoot up, if you will, maybe this will do the trick?

  • Every two seconds someone in the U.S. needs blood.
  • More than 38,000 blood donations are needed every day.
  • A total of 30 million blood components are transfused each year in the U.S. (2006).
  • The average red blood cell transfusion is approximately 3 pints.
  • The blood type most often requested by hospitals is Type O.
  • The blood used in an emergency is already on the shelves before the event occurs.
  • Sickle cell disease affects more than 80,000 people in the U.S., 98 percent of whom are African American. Sickle cell patients can require frequent blood transfusions throughout their lives.
  • More than 1 million new people are diagnosed with cancer each year. Many of them will need blood, sometimes daily, during their chemotherapy treatment.
  • A single car accident victim can require as many as 100 pints of blood.
So, step it up. It feels good to know you made a difference in someone’s life in some way.
Cross it off the bucket list. 🙂
Leave a Reply

