Humbling. Be More of It.

Well, my last post was a little bit of a rant wasn’t it?! whoops.

This post will be much less of an overly sophisticated complaining session. Although, my point still stands. Just for the record.

Fall is in the air in Ohio. I’m waking up to cooler mornings, leaves are changing, pumpkin spice lattes are served in coffee shops…its my favorite time of the year. Ahh, welcome back fall. 🙂

And with that comes nights of snuggling up with a cup of tea & diving into a good book.

Sidenote: sign #2509 I’m going to end up alone in this life, I have a seriously embarrassing relationship with books. What guy is going to be able to deal with that?

Anyway, I’ve finished a few really awesome reads (that I highly recommend):

-Something Blue, by Emily Giffin

-Salem Falls, Jodi Picoult (technically only about 3/4 of the way done with this one, but I can’t. put. it. down.)

And..I’m still pushing through “One Thousand Gifts” By Ann Voskamp. This is a deep book that covers some deep topics – great read, but definitely not a book you plow through.

Ann has just touched my heart with her writing & of course, I have to share some of her thoughts. Some good thought provokers from such a great, humbling person. 🙂

Also, a little ditty about humbleness – be more of it.

“That which seems evil, is it a cloud to bring rain, to bring a greater good to the whole of the world?”

“When I realize that it is not God who is in my debt but I who am in His great debt, then doesn’t all become gift?”

“I awaken to the strange truth that all new life comes out of the dark places. It is suffering that has the realest possibility to bear down and deliver grace. “

“God chooses to cut into my ungrateful heart to make me whole.”

“I had written it down after I had read it, that I might hope to remember it: the Hebrew word used throughout Scripture to describe God’s glory, kahod, is derived from the root word meaning ‘heaviness’.”

“Faith is the gaze of a soul upon a saving God.”

“Expectations kills relationships.” – PREACH IT ANN.

“You would be very ashamed if you knew what the experiences you call setbacks, upheavals, pointless disturbances, and tedious annoyances really are. You would realize that your complains about them are nothing more nor less than blasphemies – though that never occurs to you. Nothing happens to you except by the will of God, and yet [God’s] beloved children curse it because they do not know it for what it is.”

mmmm. Good stuff. Go to Amazon, order Ann’s book, & read into her incredible faith.

Leave a Reply

