We have Community. And thats all we have.

All great writers need something to write about. If their lives were ordinary, then they’d have no substance to their writings. There would be no passion in their words. And there would be no real meaning in the stories they put on paper.

This is what I tell myself when life throws the tough stuff at me.

The stuff like being hurt by someone I love.

The stuff like being attacked by the enemy just when my life seems to be headed in the right direction.

The stuff like being lied to by someone close to me. 

The stuff like getting my heart broken in relationships. 

The stuff like being manipulated by someone so they can get ahead in their agenda. 

And it stings every single time. It stings like a million cuts all over my body being soaked in vinegar.

But God tells us to get back up. Even when it feels like it might take everything in us to get up and put one foot in front of the other. We must do it. It is a sign of our strength, and our power in our Lord.

Proverbs 24:16 – “For a righteous man falls seven times and rises again, but the wicked are overthrown by calamity.”

People are going to be just what they are – people. They will make mistakes. They will break your trust, probably more than once. They will do whats best for themselves in most situations. They will hurt you, and break you, and stomp on you. But they will also be your best allies in this life – because really, thats all we have. We have a community of people that God has blessed us to go through life with, and relationship with them is important. So no matter how many times you are scarred, get back up and find relationship.

This has been a hard lesson for me to learn – and I don’t think I’m quite there yet. I’ve been hurt in many relationships in this life. And its hard for me to forgive and forgive when I feel like I’m constantly getting trampled on. But God calls us to do just that – to show God’s grace in the places that people don’t expect it. That can sometimes make more of a statement than anything else.

Spending some time this week praying for the relationships in my life that have been broken. God is calling me to mend those relationships and bring healing. Let me know if I can be praying specifically for you too.

Leave a Reply

