Delight and Your Desires

IMG_1769

“Delight yourself in the Lord; And he will give you the desires of your heart.” – Psalm 37:4

For me, most days I “desire” a coffee in the morning. I’m usually “desiring” a new pair of shoes. And I always “desire” to travel more. Long term, I “desire” a career in ministry, some sort of national best-selling book, and an opportunity to meet Oprah.

I’m the stereotypical Pisces – the dreamer girl with my head stuck in the clouds. I get it – my heart is full of desires.

So as I’m longing after all of these desires of mine, I’m working hard to make them reality. Isn’t it funny how we do that? We try to do everything we know to reach a goal in life, when really, we need to first seek the Lord.

Paslm 37:4 says to reach these desires, we must first delight ourselves in the Lord.

Praising him, giving thanks for all that he has already given us – this is how we delight ourselves in our creator. Enthralled with the beauty of his presence, captivated by life he has given us and all that we are – that is delighting in Him.

We need to stop doing, and start praising.

What if I said that I think that none of us know what our true desires are? 

The word desire in this passage in Psalms comes from the Hebrew word shaal, which means to ask, petition or request.

Have you ever considered that the desires of our hearts weren’t really ever ours to decide or even know? But instead, they are God’s plans for our lives from the very start? I really believe God stores up the most amazing, incredible plans that are hidden deep within, ready to be unearthed by our delight in the Lord. They are stored away in our hearts until our faith sets them free.

Looking at the Hebrew meaning of this word – we are to ask God what rules in our hearts. We are asked to petition our requests to God to make sure they are in line with his heavenly plan for our lives. Doesn’t it make sense that we would ask our creator what he created us each individually to love and enjoy?

So instead of a prayer of our idea of our “desires”, our prayer should be one that asks God to reveal his well-thought out, angelic desires for our lives. And then – we can really start living out the life he has forged for us.

I have been so amazed at the way that God has birthed passions out of me. The deeper I press into him, the more I surrender to him, the bigger sacrifice I make for him – divine desires come to the surface of my life and bring me such beautiful joy. He has opened doors to photography, to running to painting and more. How sweet is it to be loved so well by our creator? He knows us inside, outside and everything in between.

First seek Him, let Him guide you to your desires, and then revel in the beauty of it all.

Tupos,

Kristin

 

One thought on “Delight and Your Desires

  1. My hope for you is to obtain all that your heart desires because you are truly a blessing to all who’s life you have entered. Especially mine.

Leave a Reply

