Comparison is the thief of joy, so why can’t we stop?

I’m writing this post for mostly for myself. Because quite honestly, I really need to figure out a way to combat this in my life.

I’ve always battled with jealousy, with comparison, with defeat – I think its in my nature. And its one of the fastest, easiest ways to discourage my soul. The enemy comes right in and camps at that little crevice of my heart that says I’m not enough, and he has his way. He uses others and their accomplishments and pins them against me – to the point where I feel like I can’t pursue what God has put on my heart to do.

“Each of you must examine your own actions. Then you can be proud of your own accomplishments without comparing yourself to others.  Assume your own responsibility.” – Galatians 6:4-5

Examine your own actions. Don’t examine yourself against others. Don’t examine yourself against yourself. Because you and I are human with our own faults. Examine yourself against the word of God. Are you following his path for you? Are you setting goals that the Lord has set out for you and working towards them?

The Amplified Bible actually takes the first part of this scripture one step further – and says to examine your actions, attitudes and behavior.

God has made you uniquely you. There is no one else like you – embrace those parts of yourself that are distinctive. Even if you don’t like them at first. God has made our hearts so uniquely our own, there is no room to replace or exchange them.

I once drew a curly haired stick figure of myself in my notebook during quiet time, and tried to imagine how I could use each part of my body to serve God. I circled my hands and wrote: crafts, physical service to others praise, clapping. I circled my legs and wrote: running for causes. I circled my ears and wrote: listening for God’s direction, listening to others, counseling others through listening. You get the picture.

It was a good representation of how I can do little things to work towards the bigger goals that God has for me. Its so easy to get discouraged when you see others living out their dreams in big, tangible, extravagant ways – plastering them all over social media to fill your head each day. So its just as important stay focused on the little victories you are celebrating as one step closer to your dreams.

God is going to make a way for you.

Then you can be proud of your own accomplishments without comparing yourself to others. 

Isn’t it kind of disrespectful to God to long for someone else’s accomplishments? God made you. Not a second rate version of you – embrace the accomplishments that he’s given (and going to give) to you. If God wanted you to be someone else, he would have made you that way.

Assume your own responsibility. 

The amplified bible says –  every person will have to bear [with patience] his own burden [of faults and shortcomings for which he alone is responsible].

The only person we have to answer to is God. Are we doing what he asks of us? If the answer is yes, then the conversation of comparison to others is moot.

How rich and exciting would life be if we could ultimately let this ring true in our hearts?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

